Hebrides Ensemble - Auld Alliance

Join Hebrides Ensemble for their debut Perth Festival of the Arts performance, with a programme celebrating the 'Auld Alliance' in music.

For their first ever appearance at the Perth Festival of the Arts, the internationally renowned Scottish chamber music collective Hebrides Ensemble presents a programme celebrating the bonds between ‘Auld’ friends, Scotland and France. Featuring music composed for the distinctive ensemble of harp, winds and strings, the lustrous sounds of Debussy, Ravel, Françaix and Messiaen are complemented perfectly by the Caledonian-infused timbres of Cresswell, Beamish and Weir.



Judith Weir - The Bagpipers String Trio

Jean Françaix - Clarinet Quintet (I. Adagio)

Lyell Cresswell - Variations on a Theme by Charles Ives

Claude Debussy - Danse sacrée et danse profane


Sally Beamish - Between Earth and Sea

Olivier Messiaen - ‘Abime des oiseaux’ from Quartet for the End of Time

Maurice Ravel - Introduction and Allegro

About Hebrides Ensemble

Hebrides Ensemble is one of the foremost chamber music collectives in the UK. Co-founded and led by Artistic Director William Conway, it is renowned for its fresh approach to programming with a focus on music of the 20th and 21st centuries, including almost 100 world premieres. This is an international ensemble with its roots in Scottish culture which performs regularly at venues and festivals throughout the UK and Europe, including the Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, Kings Place and Wigmore Hall in London, Aldeburgh Festival, St Magnus Festival, Lammermuir Festival, Cumnock Tryst, BBC Proms and Edinburgh International Festival.

Hebrides Horizons supports the next generation of performers, composers, artistic directors and cultural leaders through its partnerships and mentoring programme, and Hebrides Digital allows audiences around the world to enjoy Hebrides Ensemble through digital technology.

Hebrides Ensemble recently released the critically acclaimed Ursa Minor, featuring the music of Stuart MacRae. This was the fifth in the Scotland’s Composers series on Delphian Records, following previous award-winning releases of music by Judith Weir, Nigel Osborne, Peter Maxwell Davies and James MacMillan.


Tickets £17.50 - £25. Under 18s just £5. Concessions (students, disabled and unemployed) £14.50 - £22. Carers go free when accompanying the person they're caring for.